Peru Day 9 – Illness Strikes!

Day 9 was something new – it was the first of three days where we had nothing to do. Unfortunately the friend I’d gone with to Peru had started suffering from the altitude sickness again after coming back up to Cusco’s height after having spent two days slightly lower at Machu Picchu. I took this opportunity to spend the morning reading a book as I’d been reading “The Andromeda Strain” for a while on the plane to Cusco but had not had chance to read any more since. By the evening I’d finished reading it and the day had pretty much passed by without leaving the hotel room so I thought I’d go down to the restaurant and try some more Alpaca steaks. When I returned to the room I heard a lot of noise coming from outside, and after looking out the window I realised it was a marching band that was throwing fire crackers as it went down the main road. I think this may have been something to do with Corpus Christii.

Leave a Reply

